top of page

You can take the girl out of Newcastle.

I may be an English teacher but I am also a native Geordie lass. Over many years I have trained my tongue to speak "posh-er". However, apart from cutting my tongue out of my mouth, one word from me and you can tell where I am from. Those not from the U.K. might guess that I'm from Ireland, Scotland, or even the Middle East (long story). When I say my hometown, in it's proper spoken twang, alas! it makes sense.

As a Northerner, and a proper one at that, I am aware we have a fast paced language. A dialect that almost seems like we might burst if we don't get out everything we're saying in one breath. Ever seen a Geordie in an argue? Gannin' akka?* It's like watching the Tasmanian Devil in vocal form.

*Gannin' akka = Going crazy.

If you're not a Geordie then you may struggle in a conversation between one, two, three, four or more. A dear southern soul who I know has admitted that when I am around my best friend he struggles to keep up with what we're saying.

Of course the word "Geordie" can refer to both people from Newcastle and the dialect itself. I apologise for the sheer amount of times it is in this blog post. I will try to keep it doon*. Us, er, people from the North, have our own way of saying the five vowels and of course the number eighty-eight. Our own absurd nature of inserting like at the end of sentences. Then there's the way we say hello and goodbye (Areet/Tarah). And, our own version of the where the object pronoun, 'me' should be placed in a sentence, and how it should be spoken. For example; Me ma sez nah* Give is it* I was having nowt ta dee with it me like.* As a fan of language and a Geordie speaker I think it really is a great dialect and one that has a grand history. This blog hopes to inform you of the interesting etymology of the Geordie language and provide some words and phrases which could be useful if you ever find yourself doon* the toon*, and cannot understand what anyone is saying like.

*doon = down

*Me ma sez nah = My Mum says no.

*Give is it = Give it to me.

*I was having nowt ta dee with it me like = Personally, I was not getting involved.

*toon = town

bottom of page